Ready for Challenge?

100a5495afa8e477544a96d3b81e4359Romans 12:16-18

16“Be of the same mind toward one another. Do not set your mind on high things, but associate with the humble. Do not be wise in your own opinion. 18 If it is possible, as much as depends on you, live peaceably with all men.”

 

Some highly challenging commitments are mentioned in these verses:

1. Be of one mind toward one another:

Me: Father, how can I think of everyone in the same way? How can I think like the rest? I have my dreams, my passion and my desires! How can I pursue them if i go with others’ desire?

Our fellowships may consist of people of different genre, behaviour and culture and it is so difficult to be of ‘_one mind toward one another’_. But God expects that in every Christian community there should be that harmony which proceeds from a common object, common hopes, common desire for God and we should treat everyone equally.

2. Do not set your mind on high things, but associate with humble

Me: God, I wish to make friends with good people in good positions and they will be very beneficial to me and circle of relationships will be strong! If I earn the soul of this high position man, he will benefit me! Let me associate with him more… 

Everyone wants to build relationships with influential people and nobody wants to build relation with a poor man who may come to church. Are we ready to humble ourselves and seek the souls of people in low positions and love them? *Associate with humble* is a too challenging statement in practical christian life.

3. Do not be wise in your own opinion

Me: Christ! This is too much…!
How can I not defend my thoughts? Why can’t I justify myself?

Yes, God expects us to be low and he wants us to accept that we are not wise but He is wise. We should have a heart and mind to listen and understand others since we are mot right all the time.

4. As much as possible, Live Peaceably with all men

Me: God, how can I please everyone and live? Its impossible! ‘With all’??? 

Yes, God really wants us to have peace with people. Don’t hesitate in initiating and saying a sorry to stop a strife. Say sorry and make the necessary compensation wherever needed even if we feel it wasn’t fair. Let God decide the fairness but we have forgive and love one another.

Are we ready to take up these challenges in life?

God will surely bless our commitments made in His love!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

