Trusting God’s Power in Life

‭‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭2:3-5“I came to you in weakness with great fear and trembling. My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on human wisdom, but on God’s power.”

It is natural for all of us to wish that things were smooth and simple for us. We would all wish at least one time for life to be just like a dream, where all things fell into its correct places in a glimpse. The greatest flaw of such a case probably is that in such a circumstance we may not truly seek God or we may not experience the depth of God’s love in those very smooth transitions.

It is easier for us to trust something to happen if we feel we are capable of doing it. For example, imagine that i am asked to lift a cup and place it somewhere else. My brain knows that I am capable of doing it and it is easy for me to trust that I can complete the task. But what if i am asked to move a mountain and keep it else where? Then I know that I am not capable enough to do it and I may not move an inch from my position even to try!

So, the point is that we find it difficult to trust the completion of tasks beyond our capabilities. And that is exactly where the role of ‘faith’ comes in life. Hebrew 11:1 says, “To have faith is to be sure of the things we hope for, to be certain of the things we cannot see.”


Looking around us, things may seem very difficult and disappointing but if we can still place our faith on Jesus then He will certainly pull us out of all our problems.

Now, Paul here says an interesting phrase in 1 Corinthians 2:4, “so that your faith might not rest on human wisdom, but on God’s power”. If I move a cup from one place to another there is very little chance for me to give glory to God for that task. But with God’s mercy even if I partially transfer some sand from the mountain to elsewhere I will be very thankful to God. Because I know that I was never capable of it but it is the faith in God that helped me to even try the task. God doesn’t want us to trust in our humanly wisdom/capability but he wants us to place our faith on God’s power in our life. 

Today you may be weak and disappointed in life. You may be approaching life with much trembling and fear than Paul but place your trust on God. He is the one who will equip us in our journey. He will provide for us and will never ever leave hold of us. 

Jesus lives and He loves you…

God bless you…

Contributor: Feba Varghese 

2 thoughts on “Trusting God’s Power in Life

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

